2016 Chapter Award Recipients 

 Human Resources Specialist of the Year Award: Sandy Loether
Sandy Loether has worked in the field of human resources for almost thirty years in almost every HR field imaginable.  She has worked in HR operations, HR policy, employee/labor relations and HR systems.  Her career has included 18 years of HR professional work with the City of New Britain, Connecticut and eight years with the Office of Human Resources, NIH, HHS.  She has been an active IPMA member during this time and has served as the President of the Montgomery County and Connecticut IPMA chapters.  She is currently running for Member at Large of the Eastern Region, IPMA.  She holds an undergraduate degree in Art History from the University of Pennsylvania and a Masters degree in Industrial and Organizational Psychology from the University of New Haven.  She is a valued and highly-respected HR professional who is involved with a variety of HR initiatives at NIH.
Distinguished Senior Professional Award: Julie Broussard Berko
Julie Broussard Berko is currently the Deputy Director of the Office of Human Resources at the National Institutes of Health, where she assists the Director in leading the various organizations within OHR. Julie has received degrees in General Studies from Sacramento City College, Sociology and Public Relations from Howard University, and Public Administration from American University before beginning her federal career.
Her federal career began in 1990 as an Employee Relations Specialist for the Department of Navy. She has consistently been involved in employee relations work, as an Investigator for the U.S. Office of Special Counsel, and as the Director in the Federal Aviation Association (FAA) for Employee Relations, Benefits & Worklife.
Julie started her NIH career as the Director of the Workforce Relations Division (WRD) in December of 2008. In September of 2015 she became the Acting Deputy Director for OHR and then was named the permanent Deputy Director of OHR in March of 2016.
Tuition Reimbursement Award: Ashley Munguia
Soaring Eagle Scholarship: Robert Caleb Blair